Referencing Help

Addison, P.  (2012). Principles of program design: Problem solving with JavaScript (International ed.). Course Technology Cengage Learning.

Bowerman, B. L., O'Connell, R. T., Murphree, E. S., & Orris, J. B. (2012). Essentials of business statistics (4th ed.). McGraw-Hill.

Burns, A. C., & Bush, R. F. (2014). Marketing research (7th ed.). Prentice Hall.

Pears, R., & Shields, G. (2019). Cite them right: The essential referencing guide (11th revised and expanded ed.). Red Globe Press.

Woodside, A. G. (Ed.). (2006). Advances in culture, tourism and hospitality research. Elsevier JAI.

American Psychological Association. (2020). Publication manual of the American Psychological Association (7th ed.). https://doi.org/10.1037/0000165-000

Axelsson, B., & Easton, G. (1992). Foreign market entry - The textbook vs the network theory. In B. Axelsson & G. Easton (Eds.), Industrial networks: A new view of reality (pp. 46-59). Routledge.

Scerri, M., & Presbury, M. (2022). The power of words: A case study of service language in an Australian five-star hotel. In S. M. Perry (Ed.), Case based research in tourism, travel, hospitality and events (pp. 117-133). Springer. https://doi.org/10.1007/978-981-16-4671-3_7

Power, J. (2011). Movement, knowledge, emotion: Gay activism and HIV/AIDS in Australia. ANU Press. https://www.doabooks.org/doab?func=search&query=rid:15033

Svendsen, S., & Løber, L. (2020). The big picture/Academic writing: The one-hour guide (3rd digital ed.). Hans Reitzel Forlag. https://thebigpicture-academicwriting.digi.hansreitzel.dk/

Bringsjord, S., & Govindarajulu, N. S. (2024). Artificial intelligence. In E. N. Zalta & U. Nodelman (eds.), The Stanford encyclopedia of philosophy (Summer 2024 ed.). Stanford University. https://plato.stanford.edu/archives/sum2024/entries/artificial-intelligence/

Merriam-Webster. (n.d.). Semantics. In Merriam-Webster.com dictionary. Retrieved June 7, 2024, from https://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/semantics

Merriam-Webster. (2003). Litmus test. In Merriam-Webster’s collegiate dictionary (11th ed., p. 727).

Note: If there are no named authors or editors, treat the company responsible for the dictionary/encyclopedia (e.g. Merriam-Webster) as a group author.

Author, A. A. 

OR

Group Author

Elbanna, S., & Armstrong, L. (2024). Exploring the integration of ChatGPT in education: Adapting for the future. Management & Sustainability: An Arab Review, 3(1), 16-29. https://doi.org/10.1108/MSAR-03-2023-0016

Ruxton, C. (2016). Tea: Hydration and other health benefits. Primary Health Care, 26(8), 34-42. https://doi.org/10.7748/phc.2016.e1162

Avari, J., & Hoferer, D. (2009, December). Windows 7: The definitive review. Chip Malaysia, 48-53.

Nairne, D. C., & Wilkinson, H. (2018). What’s love got to do with it? Vermont Connection, 39(1), 106-112.

Randerson, J. (2008, February 26). Researchers find fish that can count up to four. The Guardian, 14.

Trefts, K., & Blaksee, S. (2000). Did you hear the one about Boolean operators? Incorporating comedy into library instruction. Reference Services Review, 28(4), 369-378.

Fichten, C, Jorgensen, M, Havel, A, Legault, A, & Budd, J. (2022). Academic performance and mobile technology use during the COVID-19 pandemic: A comparative study. Journal of Postsecondary Education and Disability, 35(1), 61-77. https://higherlogicdownload.s3.amazonaws.com/AHEAD/38b602f4-ec53-451c-9be0-5c0bf5d27c0a/UploadedImages/JPED/JPED_Vol_35/JPED_35_1_.pdf

Hughes, T., Stone, M., Aravopoulou, E., Wright, L. T., & Machtynger, L. (2018). Academic research into marketing: Many publications, but little impact? Cogent Business & Management, 5(1), Article 1516108. https://doi.org/10.1080/23311975.2018.1516108

Marion, T., Reese, V., & Wagner, R. F. (2018). Dermatologic features in good film characters who turn evil: The transformation. Dermatology Online Journal, 24(9), Article 4. https://escholarship.org/uc/item/1666h4z5

Wang, T., Zhai, J., Liu, X.-L., Yao, L.-Q., & Tan, J.-Y.-B. (2021). Massage therapy for fatigue management in breast cancer survivors: A systematic review and descriptive analysis of randomized controlled trials. Evidence-Based Complementary and Alternative Medicine, 2021, Article 9967574. https://doi.org/10.1155/2021/9967574

Jin, X.-L., Zhou, Z., & Tang, Z. (in press). Using smart and connected health services to cope with pandemics: The interaction effects of event and coping appraisals. Information & Management. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.im.2024.103964

Prasad, S., & Hommel, B. (2024). The role of stimulus uncertainty and curiosity in attention control. Experimental Psychology. Advance online publication. https://doi.org/10.1027/1618-3169/a000608

Notes:

• Articles in press are papers that have been accepted for publication but not yet published.

• Advance online publications generally refer to journal articles before they are printed. They will not have a volume number, issue number or page number.

Ferguson, C. J. (2012, December 20). Sandy Hook shooting: Video games blamed, again. Time. http://ideas.time.com/2012/12/ 20/sandy-hook-shooting-video-games-blamed-again/

Where angels no longer fear to tread. (2008, March 19). The Economist. http://www.economist.com/node/10875666

Asher-Schapiro, A. (2022, June 17). US states take centre stage in battles for control over social media. The Star. https://www.thestar.com.my/tech/tech-news/2022/06/17/us-states-take-centre-stage-in-battles-for-control-over-social-media

Convery, S. (2020, August 13). When Covid closed the library: Staff call every member of Victorian library to say hello. The Guardian. https://www.theguardian.com/culture/2020/aug/13/when-covid-closed-the-library-staff-call-every-member-of-victorian-library-to-say-hello

McAdoo, T. (2024, February 23). How to cite ChatGPT. APA Style Blog. https://apastyle.apa.org/blog/how-to-cite-chatgpt

Author, A. A.

OR

Eddy, K. (2024, April 3). 6 facts about Americans and TikTok. Pew Research Center. https://pewrsr.ch/3Qbc01N

Maizland, L. (2023, December 5). Global climate agreements: Successes and failures. Council on Foreign Relations. https://www.cfr.org/backgrounder/paris-global-climate-change-agreements

Miller, K. (2024, May 3). For older adults, breaking a hip can be deadlier than cancer. Verywell Health. https://www.verywellhealth.com/breaking-hip-deadlier-than-cancer-8641084

Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade. (n.d.). The benefits of foreign investment. Australian Government. https://www.dfat.gov.au/trade/investment/the-benefits-of-foreign-investment

Department of Home Affairs. (2024, May 29). Australian citizenship statistics. Australian Government. https://www.homeaffairs.gov.au/research-and-statistics/statistics/citizenship-statistics

Mayo Clinic Staff. (2023, November 21). Consumer health basics. Mayo Clinic. https://www.mayoclinic.org/healthy-lifestyle/consumer-health/basics/consumer-health-basics/hlv-20049491

National Library of Medicine. (2017, June 19). Child abuse. MedlinePlus. https://medlineplus.gov/childabuse.html

World Health Organization. (2023, March 28). Coronavirus disease (COVID-19). https://shorturl.at/LYVNW

Notes:

• For a page on a government website without individual authors, use the specific agency responsible for the webpage as the author.

• Use the date of last publication or last update. Do not use the copyright date from a webpage footer or the date of last review. If the date is unknown or cannot be determined, write “n.d.” as the date.

Senheng. (n.d.). Laifen SE Lite high speed hair dryer. Lazada. Retrieved June 10, 2024, from https://s.lazada.com.my/s.QCN5l

U.S. Census Bureau. (n.d.). U.S. and world population clock. U.S. Department of Commerce. Retrieved October 30, 2023, from https://www.census.gov/popclock/

Note: When contents of a page are designed to change over time but are not archived, include a retrieval date in the reference.

Amos, J. (2020, February 5). World's biggest iceberg makes a run for it. BBC News. https://www.bbc.com/news/science-environment-51389690

CBC News. (2020, April 22). Air Canada to temporarily suspend flights to U.S. CBC. https://www.cbc.ca/news/business/air-canada-to-temporarily-suspend-flights-to-u-s-1.5539796

Sandhu, S., Crocker, R., & Lodhia, S. (2020, July 21). What makes people switch to reusable cups? It’s not discounts, it’s what others do. The Conversation. https://theconversation.com/what-makes-people-switch-to-reusable-cups-its-not-discounts-its-what-others-do-142254

Note: If the sites do not have associated daily or weekly newspapers, cite them as websites. Common examples are Bernama, BBC News, Bloomberg, CNN, HuffPost, MSNBC, and Reuters.

McAdoo, T. (2024, February 23). How to cite ChatGPT. APA Style Blog. https://apastyle.apa.org/blog/how-to-cite-chatgpt

Author, A. A.

OR

Anderson, J., & Rainie, L. (2023, June 21). As AI spreads, experts predict the best and worst changes in digital life by 2035. Pew Research Center. https://www.pewresearch.org/wp-content/uploads/sites/20/2023/06/PI_2023.06.21_Best-Worst-Digital-Life_2035_FINAL.pdf

Stuster, J., Adolf, J., Byrne, V., & Greene, M. (2018). Human exploration of Mars: Preliminary lists of crew tasks (Report No. NASA/CR-2018-220043). National Aeronautics and Space Administration. https://ntrs.nasa.gov/archive/nasa/casi.ntrs.nasa.gov/20190001401.pdf

Department of Statistics Malaysia. (2023, August). Current population estimates, administrative district, 2023. https://www.dosm.gov.my/uploads/release-content/file_20231108161130.pdf

National Cancer Institute. (2019). Taking time: Support for people with cancer (NIH Publication No. 18-2059). U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, National Institutes of Health. https://www.cancer.gov/publications/patient-education/takingtime.pdf

Note: For government departments, provide the specific name of the department as the author, and the 'parent' agency as the publisher. Include the report number in brackets where relevant.

Woolworths Group Limited. (2022). We are Woolworths Group: 2022 annual report. https://www.woolworthsgroup.com.au/content/dam/wwg/investors/reports/2022/full-year/Woolworths%20Group%20Annual%20Report%202022%20print%20friendly.pdf

MarketLine. (2024, March 17). Toyota Motor Corporation [Company profile]. https://research.ebsco.com/

Toyota Motor Corporation. (2013). Sustainability report 2013. http://www.toyota-global.com/sustainability/report/sr/ pdf/sustainability_report13_fe.pdf

Fitch Solutions Group Limited. (2024). Malaysia food & drink report - Q4 2024: Includes 5-year forecasts to 2028 [Industry report]. BMI. https://www.proquest.com/

ReportLinker. (2024, March). Malaysia healthcare market overview 2024-2028 [Industry report]. https://member.reportlinker.com/

Spearman, J., Gewiese, J., Rau, S., & Liesen, M. (2023, September). Consumers in Malaysia. Statista. https://www.statista.com

Statista. (n.d.). Coffee - Malaysia [Market insight]. Retrieved April 19, 2024, from https://www.statista.com

Notes:

• Provide a description of the report [in square brackets] to convey the information that readers need to understand the nature of the work.

• If a direct URL requires a login, use the URL of the database homepage or login page.

Starbucks Corporation. (2022, March 15). Starbucks affirms commitment to a planet positive future through innovation and learnings from store partners [Press release]. https://stories.starbucks.com/press/2022/starbucks-affirms-commitment-to-a-planet-positive-future-through-innovation-and-learnings-from-store-partners/

Rammstedt, B., Lechner, C., & Danner, D. (2024, March 19). Beyond literacy: The incremental value of non-cognitive skills (OECD Education Working Papers No. 311). OECD Publishing. https://doi.org/10.1787/7d4fe121-en

Department for Business Innovation & Skills. (2016). Success as a knowledge economy: Teaching excellent, social mobility and student choice [White paper]. Crown. https://www.gov.uk/government/uploads/system/uploads/attachment_data/file/523396/bis-16-265-success-as-a-knowledge-economy.pdf

World Health Organization. (2023, March 16). Hypertension [Fact sheet]. https://www.who.int/news-room/fact-sheets/detail/hypertension

Egege, S., & Parker, S. (2019, July 7-10). Think, talk, write, reflect: How to teach students to think critically [Paper presentation]. The 5th STARS Conference, Melbourne, Australia. https://unistars.org/papers/STARS2019/10D.pdf

Notes:

• Provide the full dates of the conference in the date element of the reference.

• Describe the presentation in square brackets after the title. The description is flexible (e.g., “[Conference session],” “[Paper presentation],” “[Poster session],” “[Keynote address]”).

O’Donohue, W. (2017). Content analysis of undergraduate psychology textbooks (ICPSR 36966; Version V1) [Data set]. ICPSR. https://doi.org/10.3886/ICPSR36966.v1

Hanower, F. (2011, July 4). Pizza [Photograph]. Flickr. https://flic.kr/p/a1xZxD

Google. (n.d.). [Google map of Sunway College Johor Bahru]. Retrieved May 7, 2024, from https://maps.app.goo.gl/wW1ypHcazQ5kguio8

Google. (n.d.). [Google Maps direction for driving from Sunway College Johor Bahru, to Holiday Villa Johor Bahru]. Retrieved June 9, 2024, from https://maps.app.goo.gl/bfuRCw31X95MmuhA9

Chaw, S. P. (2024). Introduction to referencing [PowerPoint presentation]. iLearn. https://ilearn.sunway.edu.my/login/index.php

Chin, R. (2012, March). BSTA 0202 Quantitative methods 2 [Study guide]. Sunway College Johor Bahru.

Notes:

• APA 7th style uses The Bluebook as the basis for legal referencing, which is designed to deal with American legislation. It is advisable to consult with your lecturer for any specific requirements when referencing legal materials in APA style.

• The reference examples provided here are adapted from the Australian Guide to Legal Citation (AGLC 4th edition). For in-text citations, follow the standard APA format.

Australian Accounting Standards Board. (2023). Leases (AASB 16). https://www.aasb.gov.au/admin/file/content105/c9/AASB16_02-16_COMPnov22_01-24.pdf

Shen, Y., Tang, X., & Zhuo, Y. (2024). Rotary drum recycling of photovoltaic panels (Australian Patent No. 2024901281). IP Australia. https://ipsearch.ipaustralia.gov.au/patents/2018100960

Jones, J. (2016, March 23). Guided reading: Making the most of it [PowerPoint slides]. SlideShare. https://www.slideshare.net/hellojenjones/guided-reading-making-the-most-of-it

Sunway College JB Library. (2020, July 20). What makes you a good leader? [Image]. Facebook. https://www.facebook.com/sunwayjblib/photos/a.201447589896906/4077206422320984/

Sunway College JB Library [@sunwayjblib]. (2020, August 13). Here are key databases for science [Image]. Instagram. https://www.instagram.com/p/CD0nMvODSor/

Bickmore, T. W. (2003). Relational agents: Effecting change through human-computer relationships [Doctoral thesis, Massachusetts Institute of Technology]. https://www.khoury.northeastern.edu/home/bickmore/bickmore-thesis.pdf

See, B. P. (2009). Determinants of career maturity of final-year undergraduates in selected Malaysian private higher education institutions [Master’s thesis, Universiti Putra Malaysia]. MyTO. http://myto.upm.edu.my/find/Record/my-upm-ir.7536

Note: Include the bracketed description “Doctoral dissertation” or “Master’s thesis” or "Undergraduate hoors thesis" followed by a comma and the name of the institution that awarded the degree.

Rowe, S. (2015, April 13). How to do referencing in Word document [Video]. Youtube. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iWnooifg6N8