Skip to main content

Sunway JB Library & Learning Commons: Search@Library

The Library & Learning Commons is committed towards supporting the college's learning community by providing high quality collections and services to staff and students.

Where can I Search?

Book Search via Library Catalogue
A system to search Sunway JB’s books, AV materials and manage your library account.
SearchAll
A one-stop search engine that allows you to search books, articles, journals, audiovisuals etc., from All Sunway Libraries. It is useful for research.
A - Z Databases
Subject databases with specialised knowledge specific to discipline.
 
Library : 


One search for books, articles, journals, audiovisuals and more

 

Find Book

  1. Access the library homepage at https://sunwayjb.libguides.com/sycjb
  2. Click the Book Search tab, enter the search term(s) in the search box.
  3. Choose the Field you are interested in: KeywordsAuthorTitle, and etc.
  4. Choose Sunway College – JB Library.
  5. Click Search.
  6. A list of records found is displayed. Click on the title to select a book.
  7. The detailed record is displayed. Note the Call Number and Location to find the item on the shelf. If the item is borrowed out, it will show the due date at Location.

 

  1. Access the library homepage at https://sunwayjb.libguides.com/sycjb
  2. Click the Book Search tab.
  3. From the Book Search page, click Advanced Search.
  4. The Advanced Search page is displayed. There are multiple search boxes for combining search terms in different terms.
  5. Enter keywords of a title e.g. academic writing, in the title search box.
  6. In the library, select ALL from the drop down menu.
  7. In the item category 1, select E-Book  from the drop down menu.
  8. Click Search.

  9. A list of books in electronic format is displayed.
  10. To view the book, click on book title. You will be asked to key in the Library User ID and PIN.

  1. Access the library homepage at https://sunwayjb.libguides.com/sycjb
  2. Click the SeachAll tab.
  3. Enter the search term(s) in the search box.
  4. Click Search.

  5. A list of search results is displayed. The results could be books, e-books, academic journals, video, etc.
  6. To obtain e-book: At the left panel under Source Types, check the box for eBooks.

  7. A list of search results of e-book is displayed.

  8. You may also click the title for item information.
  9. To view the book, click Online Access. You will be asked to key in the Library User ID and PIN.

 

Proquest Academic Complete - E-books
Over 84,000 multidisciplinary academic e-books are available.

Find Article

  1. Access the library homepage at https://sunwayjb.libguides.com/sycjb​
  2. Click the SeachAll tab.
  3. Enter the search term(s) in the search box.
  4. Click Search.

     
  5. A list of search results is displayed. The results could be books, e-books, academic journals, video, etc. Refine your search results by checking the relevant boxes at the left panel.
  6. To obtain journal articles: At the left panel under Source Types, check the box for Academic Journals only.
  7. To obtain peer-reviewed journal articles: At the left panel under Limit To, check the box for Peer Reviewed.
     
  8. A list of search results of articles from peer-reviewed journals is displayed.
     
  9. You may also click on the title for item information.
  10. To view the article, click on PDF Full Text. You will be asked to key in the Library User ID and PIN.
     
  11. ​Some records have this note: Full Text Finder, click on that note to go to the record with links to the full text.

Find the full-text of a specific article by using the library's subject-specific databases from A – Z Databases.

To access a database, you will be asked to key in the Library User ID and PIN.

Find Audiovisual Material

  1. Access the library homepage at https://sunwayjb.libguides.com/sycjb​
  2. Click the Book Search tab.
  3. From the Book Search page, click Advanced Search.
  4. The Advanced Search page is displayed. There are multiple search boxes for combining search terms in different terms.
  5. Enter keywords of a movie e.g. harry potter, in the title search box.
  6. Choose Sunway College – JB Library.
  7. In the item category 1, select Video from the drop down menu.
  8. Click Search.
  9. A list of records found is displayed. Click on the title to select an item.
  10. The detailed record is displayed. Note the Call Number and obtain the item from the staff at the Circulation Counter. If the item is borrowed out, it will show the due date at Location.

 

  1. If you are looking for all the available movie titles, access the library homepage at https://sunwayjb.libguides.com/sycjb​
  2. Click the Book Search tab.
  3. Enter feature films in the search box.
  4. Choose Subject.
  5. Choose Sunway College – JB Library.
  6. Click Search.
  7. A list of records found is displayed. Browse the search results and click on the title to select an item.
  8. The detailed record is displayed. Note the Call Number and obtain the item from the staff at the Circulation Counter. If the item is borrowed out, it will show the due date at Location.

Library Workshops

Register a Workshop

You are welcomed to request for a separate session on another date according to your schedule from Help Desk or Learning Support at least 1 day before workshop date.

Copyright © 2020 Sunway College Johor Bahru. This website is best viewed in Google Chrome.