Skip to main content

Harvard Referencing Style Guide: Reference List

Material Type

Format

Author’s Surname, INITIALS Year of publication, Title of materialedition,  material type  i.e. CD-ROM/audio/CD/DVD/VHS/ film/animation/podcast, Publisher, Place of Publication.

Online:

Author’s Surname, INITIALS Year of publication, Title of materialedition,  material type  i.e. CD-ROM/audio/CD/DVD/VHS/ film/animation/podcast, Publisher, Place of Publication, viewed date, <URL>.

Note: for audio podcasts, use "accessed" instead of "viewed"


Source Type Reference List Examples In-text Citation
Audiovisual materials/ CD-ROMs
 

Luhta, E 2010, How to cheat in Maya 2010: tools and techniques for Maya AnimatorCD-ROM,  Focal Press, Burlington.

(Luhta 2010)

Luhta (2010)

Film/ video/ television programme/ broadcast
 

The music man 2009, film,  Warner Home Video, Pyrmont, NSW.

This is highlighted in the film The music man (2009)

Online video/ Youtube
 

Rowe, S 2015, How to do referencing in word documentvideo, Youtube, viewed 25 May 2015, <https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iWnooifg6N8>.

(Rowe 2015)

Podcast
 

Are blogs the new newspapers? 2009, podcast,  Podcast Alley, accessed 20 March 2009,  <https://www.podcastvalley.com/forum/showthread.php?=146809>. 

(Are blogs the new newspapers? 2009)

Format

Single author

Author’s Surname, INITIALS Year of publication, Book title, Edition, Publisher, Place of publication.

2 or 3 authors

Author’s Surname, INITIALS, Author’s Surname, INITIALS & Author’s Surname, INITIALS Year of publication, Book title, Edition, Publisher, Place of publication.

With editor

Editor’s Surname, INITIALS (ed.) Year of publication, Book title, Edition, Publisher, Place of publication.

In a series

Editor’s Surname, INITIALS (ed.) Year of publication, Book title, Series title and volume - if available, Edition - if not the first, Publisher, Place of publication.


Source Type Reference List Examples In-text Citation
Single author Addison, P 2012, Principles of program design: problem solving with JavaScript, International edn, Course Technology Cengage Learning, Boston.

(Addison 2012)

Addison (2012) commented that….

2 or 3 authors Burns, AC & Bush, RF 2014, Marketing research, 7th edn, Prentice Hall, Boston.

(Burns & Bush 2014)

As stated by Burns and Bush (2014) ….

More than 3 authors Bowerman, BL, O'Connell, RT, Murphree, ES & Orris, JB 2012, Essentials of business statistics, 4th edn, McGraw-Hill,  New York.

(Bowerman et al. 2012)

As concluded by Bowerman et al. (2012) …

Editor (s) Woodside, AG (ed.) 2006, Advances in culture, tourism and hospitality research,  Elsevier JAI, Amsterdam.

(Woodside 2006)

Woodside (2006)…

Organization as author (corporate author) Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development  2012, Food and the tourism experience: the OECD-Korea Workshop, OECD, Paris.

(Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development 2012)

Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (2012) argues that…

In a series Swales, JM & Feak, CB 2004, Academic writing for graduate students: essential tasks and skills, Michigan series in English for academic and professional purposes, 2nd edn, The University of Michigan Press, Ann Arbor.

Swales and Feak (2004) incorporate new research in textual analysis.

Writing critiques helps articulate scholarly expectations (Swales & Feak 2004).

No author Networks and distributed system study book 2000,  3rd edn, Distance Education Centre, University of Southern Queensland, Toowoomba.

The Networks and distributed system study book (2000) indicates that…

(Networks and distributed system study book 2000)

Author with same surname

McDonald, K 2011, How to market to people not like you: 'know it or blow it' rules for reaching diverse customers, 7th edn, John Wiley & Sons, Hoboken.

 

McDonald, M 2002, Marketing plans: how to prepare them, how to use them, 5th edn, Elsevier, Amsterdam.

(McDonald, K 2011; McDonald, M 2002)

Note: When two or more works are included in one citation, they should be arranged in alphabetical order and delimited by a semicolon.

Multiple works by same author in the same year

 

McDonald, M 2011a, Marketing plans for services: a complete guide, 3rd edn, John Wiley & Sons, Chichester.
 

McDonald, M 2011b, Marketing plans: how to prepare them, how to use them, 7th edn, John Wiley & Sons, Chichester.

(McDonald 2011a; 2011b)

Citing secondary sources / indirect quotation

 

Galvin, P 2009, Electronic principles, cited in Stanllings, W & Van Slyke, R 2009, 'Signal encoding',  Business data communications, 2nd edn, Macmillan College Publishing Company, New York, p. 23.

Galvin (2009, in Stallings & Van Slyke 2009) defined...

...(Galvin 2009 in Stallings & Van Slyke 2009).

Chapter in edited book

Axelsson, B & Easton, G 1992, ‘Foreign market entry - the textbook vs the network theory’, in B Axelsson & G Easton (eds), Industrial networks: a new view of reality Routledge, London, pp. 46-59.

(Axelsson & Easton 1992)

U.S. Department of Health and Human Services 2007, ‘Alcoholism is a serious problem for teens’, in TL Roleff (ed.), 2010, Alcoholism Greenhaven,  Detroit,  pp. 27-33.

(U.S. Department of Health and Human Services 2007)

Citing specific page(s)

Arends, RI 2012, Learning to teach, 9th edn, McGraw-Hill, New York, pp. 432-433.

 

Dial, L 2009, ‘The drinking age should not be lowered’, in TL Roleff (ed.),  2010, Alcoholism, Greenhaven Press, Detroit, p.86.

 

Note: Include the page number after Place of publication, if you only cited from a specific page or specific continuing pages.

(Arends 2012)

 

 

(Dial 2009)

Format

From database

Author’s Surname, INITIALS Year of publication, Book title,  Publisher, Place of Publication, viewed date, Name of ebook collection.

From website

Author’s Surname, INITIALS Year of publication, Book title, Publisher, Place of Publication, viewed date, <URL>.


Source Type Reference List Examples In-text Citation
E-book from database Dent, J 2008, Distribution channels: understanding and managing channels to market,  Kogan Page, London, viewed 6 March 2014,  ebrary.

(Dent 2008)

As identified by Dent (2008)

E-book from website Marks, J & Stephens, P 2007, A guide to flower arranging, Prentice Hall, New Jersey, viewed 17 January 2013, <http://bartleby.com/117/>.

(Marks & Stephens 2007)

Marks and Stephens (2007) refer to….

Format

Author’s Surname, INITIALS Year of publication, Title of case, case, Publisher, Place of Publication.


Source Type Reference List Examples In-text Citation
Case study

Gould, RM 1994, Revolution at Oticon A/S (B): acquiring change competence in a "spaghetti" organisation, case, International Management Development Institute, Lausanne.

In the case by Gould(1994),…

Format

Printed:

Corporate author Year of publication, Title of report, Publisher, Place of Publication.

Online:

From Database

Author or Corporate author Year of publication, Title of report, viewed date, <URL of main entrance to the database service> or Name of database.

From website

Author or Corporate author Year of publication, Title of report, viewed date, <URL>. 


Source Type Reference List Examples In-text Citation
Company report/ market research report

Bank Negara Malaysia 2012, Annual report 2011, Bank Negara Malaysia, Kuala Lumpur.

As Bank Negara Malaysia (2012) reports….
MarketLine 2013, Aeon Co. (M) Bhd.,  viewed 20 January 2014,  Business Source Complete. As MarketLine(2013) reports….

Toyota Motor corporation 2013, Sustainability report 2013,  viewed 11 March 2014, <http://www.toyota-global.com/sustainability/report/sr/pdf/sustainability_report13_fe.pdf>.

As Toyota Motor Corporation(2013) reports….

Ibisworld 2014, Pet stores in the US,  viewed 11 March 2014,  <http://www.ibisworld.com/gosample.aspx?cid=1&rtid=101>.

(Ibisworld 2014)

Format

Author or Corporate author Year of publication, Title of reportcompany profile, viewed date, <URL>.


Source Type Reference List Examples In-text Citation
Company profile Datamonitor 2012, Toyota Motor Corporation, company profile,  viewed 10 March 2014, <http://ezproxy.sunway.edu.my>. As Datamonitor (2012) reports….

Format

Printed:

Author’s Surname, INITIALS Year of publication, ‘Title of paper’, in Editor (if applicable)Title of published proceeding,  place held, date, Publisher, Place of publication, Page number(s).

Online:

Published

Author’s Surname, INITIALS Year of publication, ‘Title of paper’, in Editor (if applicable)Title of published proceeding, place held, date, Publisher, Place of publication, viewed date, <URL>.

Unpublished

Author’s Surname, INITIALS Year of publication, ‘Title of paper’, in Editor (if applicable)Title of unpublished proceedingplace held, date, Publisher, Place of publication, viewed date, <URL>.


Source Type Reference List Examples In-text Citation
Printed conference paper (published)

Ara, P 2009, ‘The realization problem for Von Neumann regular rings’, in H Marubayashi, K Masaike, K Oshiro & M Sato (eds), Ring theory 2007: proceedings of the fifth China-Japan-Korea conference, Tokyo, Japan, 10-15 September 2007,  World Scientific,  Hackensack,  pp. 21-37.

(Ara 2009)

Ara (2009)…

DuPont, B 2012, ‘Marketing and the internet: implications for managers’, Proceedings of the third annual Australian Marketing Association, Melbourne, Australian Marketing Association Melbourne, pp. 44-46.

(DuPont 2012)

DuPont (2012)…

Online conference paper from database (published) Fan, W, Gordon, MD & Pathak, P 2000, ‘Personalization of search engine services for effective retrieval and knowledge management’,  Proceedings of the twenty-first international conference on information systems, Brisbane, Australia, 10-13 December 2000, pp. 20-34, viewed 2 January 2014, Association for Computing Machinery, ACM Digital Library.

(Fan, Gordon & Pathak 2000)

Fan, Gordon and Pathak (2000)…

Online conference paper from website (published) Vlas, R & Robinson, WN 2011, ‘A rule-based natural language technique for requirements discovery and classification in open-source software development projects’,  Proceedings of the 44th Hawaii international conference on system sciences, Kauai, Hawaii, 4-7 January, viewed 5 April 2014, <http://www.hicss.hawaii.edu/hicss_44/bp44/in3.pdf>.

(Vlas & Robinson 2011)

Vlas and Robinson (2011)…

Printed conference paper (unpublished)  Chang, JI, Yoo, SH & Kwak, J 2004, ‘Measuring the conservation value of the Songji Lagoon, with an investigation of preference uncertainty’, paper presented to the Thirteenth Annual Conference of the European Association of Environmental and Resource Economics,  Budapest, Hungary, 25-28 June. Chang, Yoo and Kwak (2004) argued that…..
Online conference paper from website (unpublished) Hallam, G, Hiskens, A & Ong, R 2013, ‘Conceptualising the learning organisation: creating a maturity framework to develop a shared understanding of the library’s role in literacy and learning’, paper presented to the Seventy-nine IFLA General Conference and Assembly, 17-23 August 2013, Singapore, viewed 10 March 2014, 
<http://conference.ifla.org/past-wlic/2013/ifla79.htm>.

(Hallam, Hiskens & Ong 2013)

Hallam, Hiskens and Ong (2013)…

Format

Printed:

Author’s Surname, INITIALS Year of publication, ‘Title of entry or article’, in  – Editor of Publication- INITIALS  Surname with (ed.) or (eds.), Title of dictionary/ encyclopedia,  Edition – if not the first, Publisher, Place of Publication, page number.

Online:

Author’s Surname, INITIALS Year of publication, ‘Title of entry or article’, Title of dictionary/ encyclopedia, Publisher, Place of Publication, viewed date, <URL of main entrance to the database service> or Name of database.

 


Source Type Reference List Examples In-text Citation
Printed dictionary (with author)
 
Oey, GT 2004, ‘Health and illness’, in AA Sharifah Zahran (ed.), Everyday Malay: phrase book and dictionary, 2nd edn, p. 121,  Tuttle Publishing, Singapore.

(Oey 2004)

Oey (2004)

Printed dictionary (no author)
 
‘Dragon’ 1997, Dictionary of world religions, p. 298, Oxford University Press, Oxford.

('Dragon' 1997)

Online dictionary (no author)
 

‘Global warming’ 2014, Macmillian dictionary, viewed 5 April 2014,<http://www.macmillandictionary.com/dictionary/british/global-warming >.  

('Global warming' 2014)

Printed encyclopedia entry (with author)
 
Ayman, R 2004, ‘Leadership and culture’, in CD Spielberger (ed.), Encyclopedia of applied psychology, vol. 3, pp. 507-517,  Elsevier Academic Press, Amsterdam.

(Ayman 2004)

Ayman (2004)

Printed encyclopedia entry (no author)
 
‘Greenhouse effect’ 2008, Britannica concise encyclopedia, p. 801,  Encyclopedia Britannica.

('Greenhouse effect' 2008)

 

Online Encyclopedia entry (with author)
 
Benson, N 2012, ‘Global warming’, Encyclopedia of global warming and climate change,   Sage Publication, Thousand Oaks, viewed 11 March 2014, Credo Reference.

(Benson 2012)

Benson (2012)

Online Encyclopedia entry (no author)
 
‘Climate’ 2008, Philip's encyclopediaPhilip's, London, viewed 11 March 2014, <http://ezproxy.sunway.edu.my>.

‘Global warming’ 2014, Encyclopedia britannica online, viewed 19 March 2014,   <http://www.britannica.com/EBchecked/topic/235402/global-warming>.

('Climate' 2008)

 

('Global warming' 2014)

Format

Printed:

Author’s Surname, INITIALS Year of publication, ‘Title of article’, Title of Publication, volume number, part number page numbers.

Online:

Author’s Surname, INITIALS Year of publication, ‘Title of article’, Title of Publication, volume number, part number page numbers,  viewed date, <URL>.


Source Type Reference List Examples In-text Citation
Printed

Tenopir, C, King, DW, Boyce, P, Grayson, M & Paulson, KL 2005, ‘Relying on electronic journals: reading patterns of astronomers’, Journal of the American Society for Information Science and Technology, vol. 56, no. 8, pp. 786-802.

Astronomers tend to have fewer personal journal subscriptions than other scientists (Tenopir et al. 2005, Table 4).

Online

Brazzeal, B 2011, ‘Citations to Wikipedia in chemistry journals: a preliminary study’, Issues in Science and Technology Librarianship, Fall, viewed 9 February 2012, <http://www.istl.org/11fall/refereed2.html>.

Relatively few citations to Wikipedia are for specific mathematical formulas or chemical properties (Brazzeal 2011, Table 1).

Format

Printed:

Author’s Surname, INITIALS Year of publication, Title of imageimage, Publisher, Place of Publication.

Online:

Author’s Surname, INITIALS Year of publication, Title of imageimage, Publisher, Place of Publication, day and month of image, viewed date, <URL>.


Source Type Reference List Examples In-text Citation
Image
 

Elkin, M, Perry, A & Potter, P 1996, Nursing interventions and clinical skillsimage, Mosby, St. Louis.

The photograph ‘Great client congenially’ illustrates a pleasant exchange between a nurse and a hospitalised patient (Elkin, Perry & Potter 1996, p.22).

Online image
 

An offering to the ocean in La Punta, Peru 2009, image, Sydney Morning, Herald, 19 May, viewed 25 May 2009,<https://www.smh.com.au/snapshots>. 

In the image (An offering to the ocean in La Punta, Peru 2009) it can be...

Format

Blog

Author’s Surname, INITIALS Year of posting, ‘Title of posting’, Title of blog medium,  day and month of posting, viewed date, <URL>.

Web page

Author’s Surname, INITIALS or Corporate Author Year, Title of webpageWebsite name or Organisation, viewed date, <URL>.

Web document

Author’s Surname, INITIALS or Corporate Author Year of document, Title of documentPublisher, Place of Publication, viewed date, <URL>.


Source Type Reference List Examples In-text Citation
Blog (by organisation)

Batts, S 2007, ‘Antioxidants in berries increased by ethanol (but are daiquiris healthy)’, Scienceblogs.com,  blog,  24 April, viewed 2 May 2008, <http://scienceblogs.com/retrospectacle/2007/04/antioxidants_in_berries_icre_1.php>.

(Batts 2007)

Webpage

Laub, Z 2014, The Taliban in AfghanistanCouncil on Foreign Relations, viewed 11 March 2014,<http://www.cfr.org/afghanistan/taliban-afghanistan/p10551#p6>.

(Laub 2014)

Natural Resources Defense Council 2011, An introduction to climate change: what it could mean to you and your familyNRDC, viewed 21 March 2014,<http://www.nrdc.org/globalwarming/climatebasics.asp>.

(Natural Resources Defense Council 2011)

State Government of Victoria 2013, Obesity in children - causesBetter Health Channel, viewed 25 May2015,<http://www.betterhealth.vic.gov.au/bhcv2/bhcarticles.nsf/pages/Obesity_in_children?open>.

(State Government of Victoria 2013)

Webpage (no author & no date)

Perodua Myvi n.d., Carbase.my, viewed 25 May 2015,<http://www.carbase.my/perodua/myvi/generations>.

(Perodua Myvi n.d.)

Web document

United States Environmental Protection Agency 2010, Methane and nitrous oxide emissions from natural sourcesEPA, Washington, viewed 11 March 2014,<http://www.epa.gov/outreach/pdfs/Methane-and-Nitrous-Oxide-Emissions-From-Natural-Sources.pdf>.

(United States Environmental Protection Agency 2010)

Format

Interviewee’s Surname, INITIALS Year, interviewed by Interviewer’s INITIALS Surname on Date, Place of Interview.


Source Type Reference List Examples In-text Citation
Interview (recorded)

Hatton, A 2008, interviewed by B Brown on 15 April 2008, Stoke on Trent.

[Casette recording in possession of author].

… as noted by Hatton (2008)

Format

Printed:

Author's Surname, INITIALS Year of publication, ‘Title of article’, Title of Journal (capitalize each unique word), volume number, part number/ month, page number.

Online:

From database

Author's Surname, INITIALS Year of publication, ‘Title of article’, Title of Journal (capitalize each unique word), volume number, part number/ month, page numbers, viewed date, <URL of main entrance to the database service> or Name of database.

From website

Author's Surname, INITIALS Year of publication, ‘Title of article’, Title of Journal (capitalize each unique word), volume number, part number/ month, page numbers, viewed date, <URL>.


Source Type Reference List Examples In-text Citation
Online journal article from database Wilson, J 1996, ‘Enter the cyberpunk librarian: future directions in cyberspace’, Internet Research: Electronic Networking Applications and Policy, vol. 6, no. 1, pp. 22-28, viewed 21 March 2014, Emerald Insight.

(Wilson  1996)

As described by Wilson (1996)…

Wilson, J 1996, ‘Enter the cyberpunk librarian: future directions in cyberspace’, Internet Research: Electronic Networking Applications and Policy, vol. 6, no. 1, pp. 22-28, viewed 21 March 2014,  <http://ezproxy.sunway.edu.my>.
Online journal article from website Rempel, J & Cossarini, DM  2013,  ‘Communicating the relevance of the library in the age of Google: improving undergraduate research skills and information literacy through new models of library instruction’, Nordic Journal of Information Literacy in Higher Education, vol. 5,  special issue 1,  pp. 49-53, viewed 21 March 2014,  <https://noril.uib.no/index.php/noril/article/view/176/35>.

(Rempel & Cossarini 2013)

Rempel and Cossarini (2013) suggested

Printed journal article Trefts, K & Blaksee, S 2000, ‘Did you hear the one about Boolean operators? Incorporating comedy into library instruction’, Reference Services Review, vol. 28, no. 4, pp. 369-378.

(Trefts & Blaksee 2000, p.378)

This supports Trefts and Blaksee's (2000) evidence that

Dennis, R 2007, ‘Theory and practice in marketing research’, Journal of Marketing, vol. 27, Summer, pp. 131-140. (Dennis 2007)
Printed magazine article Avari, J & Hoferer, D 2009, ‘Windows 7: the definitive review’, Chip Malaysia, December, pp. 48-53.

(Avari & Hoferer 2009)

It is commented by Avari and Hoferer (2009).

Online magazine article Ferguson, CJ 2012, ‘Sandy Hook shooting: video games blamed, again’, Time, 20 December, viewed 7 March 2014,  <http://ideas.time.com/2012/12/20/sandy-hook-shooting-video-games-blamed-again/>.

(Ferguson 2012)

As concluded by Ferguson (2012)…

Online magazine article without author ‘Where angels no longer fear to tread’ 2008, The Economist, 19 March, viewed 7 March 2014,  <http://www.economist.com/node/10875666>. Science has decided to explain the existence of religion (‘Where angels no longer fear to tread’ 2008).

Format

Lecturer's Surname, INITIALS Year, Subject Code Subject Name, material type  i.e. study guide, lecture notes, Semester/ month, Education Institution.

Note: It is advisable to use published primary sources rather than lectures as references in your paper.


Source Type Reference List Examples In-text Citation
Lecture notes

Chin, R 2012, BSTA 0202 Quantitative Methods 2, study guide,  March, Sunway College Johor Bahru.

Chin (2012) suggested...

Format

Acts

Name of act Year (Jurisdication)

Cases

Party names (Year) volume number LAW REPORT beginning page number


Source Type Reference List Examples In-text Citation
Acts

Copyright Act 1968 (Cwlth)

As stated in the Copyright Act 1968 (Cwlth)…
Cases

Carey v. Price (2005) 132 ALR 255

The case Carey v. Price (2005) 132 ALR 255 showed that…

Format

School Year, Manual title, type of document i.e. practical or tutorial manual, Education Institution.


Source Type Reference List Examples In-text Citation
Manual

School of Chemical and Life Sciences 2009, CP 1011 Cell biology and function, practical & tutorial manual, Singapore Polytechnic.

In the School of Chemical and Life Sciences(2009),…

Format

Printed:

Author’s Surname, INITIALS Year of publication, ‘Title of article’, Title of Newspaper (capitalize each unique word), day and month of article, page number of article if available.

Online:

Author’s Surname, INITIALS Year of publication, ‘Title of article’, Title of Newspaper (capitalize each unique word), day and month of article, page number of article if available, viewed date, <URL of the main entrance to the database service>.


Source Type Reference List Examples In-text Citation
Printed newspaper article Randerson, J 2008, ‘Researchers find fish that can count up to four’, The Guardian, 26 February, p. 14.

(Randerson 2008)

Randerson’s (2008) article indicates that …

Printed newspaper article (with no author) ‘The rich get richer in Malaysia’ 2011, The Star, 4 March, p. N6. It is found that the income gap in Malaysia is increasing (‘The rich get richer in Malaysia’ 2011).
Online newspaper article from website Flitton, D 2012, ‘Economics woes hit US defence ambitions’, The Sydney Morning Herald, 4 January, viewed 7 March 2014,
 <http://www.smh.com.au/world/economic-woes-hit-us-defence-ambitions-20120103-1pjnm.html>.

(Flitton 2012)

According to Flitton (2012)…

Online newspaper article from database Randerson, J 2008, ‘Researchers find fish that can count up to four’, The Guardian, 26 February,  p. 14, viewed 22 May 2013,  <http://infotrac.galegroup.com.ezproxy.sunway.edu.my>.

(Randerson 2008)

Randerson’s (2008) research indicates that …

Format

Author’s Surname, INITIALS Year of publication, Title of the slides, PowerPoint presentation, Education Institution, viewed date, <URL>.


Source Type Reference List Examples In-text Citation
PowerPoint slides Aguilar, F 2001, Polyethylene biodigesters: production of biogas and organic fertiliser from animal manure,  PowerPoint presentation, University of Adelaide,  viewed 4 June 2005, <http://www.adelaide.edu.au/biogas/poly_digester/aguilar/index.htm>. Aguilar (2001) has shown that…

Format

Printed:

Author’s Surname, INITIALS Year of submission, ‘Title of thesis’, Degree awarded, Name of University Awarding Degree, 

Online:

Author’s Surname, INITIALS Year of submission, ‘Title of thesis’, Degree awarded, Name of University Awarding Degree,  viewed date, <URL> or Name of Database.


Source Type Reference List Examples In-text Citation
Printed thesis Barnes, DL 2000, ‘An investigation into the process of formation of operations strategy by small manufacturing companies’, PhD thesis, Staffordshire University. (Barnes 2000)

Barnes (2000)…
Online thesis from a database Zijlstra, T 2016, ‘The role of social media in relation to knowledge transfer and professional development’, PhD thesis, Loughborough University, viewed 9 March 2017, EBSCOhost.

(Zijlstra 2016)

Zijlstra (2016)…

Online thesis from website Bickmore, TW 2003, ‘Relational agents: effecting change through human-computer relationships’, PhD thesis, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, viewed 11 March 2014, <http://www.ccs.neu.edu/home/bickmore/bickmore-thesis.pdf>.

(Bickmore 2003)

Bickmore (2003)…

List entries in alphabetical order by the author’s last name, using letter –by- letter. If the author’s name is not known, alphabetize by the title.


Arends, RI 2012, Learning to teach, 9th edn, McGraw-Hill, New York, p. 432.


Kolb, DA 1984, Experiential learning: experience as the source of learning and development, Prentice Hall, Englewood Cliffs, viewed 2 January 2012, <http://home.hiroshima-u.ac.jp/cice/9-1derebssa.pdf>.


Kosminsky, E & Kosminsky, L 2003, ‘Improving motivation through dialogue’, Educational Leadership, vol. 61, pp. 150-154, cited in Arends, RI 2012, Learning to teach, 9th
edn, McGraw-Hill, New York, p. 433.


Law, N, Yuen, H, Ki, W, Li, S, Lee, Y & Chow, Y 2000, Changing classrooms: a study of good practices in using ICT in Hong Kong schools, Hong Kong Centre for Information Technology in School and Teacher Education, University of Hong Kong.


Rowe, MB 1986, ‘Wait time: slowing down may be a way of speeding up’, Journal of Teacher Education, vol. 37, p. 43.

 

Resources

Citation Generator

MyBib is a free, no-ads citation tool that allows users to generate in-text citations and bibliographic references for books, articles and etc. You can paste in a book ISBN, journal DOI or website address and have the fields populate automatically over 9,000 citation styles available including Sunway College Johor Bahru Harvard Referencing Style.

Please check the referencing format to ensure it follows the College guidelines.

 

Citefast

Citefast is a user-friendly citation generator that supports APA, MLA and Chicago formatting.You could generate in-text citation and reference in four easy steps and create an account to manage your bibliographies.

Register a Workshop

You are welcomed to request for a separate session on another date according to your schedule from Help Desk or Learning Support at least 1 day before workshop date.

Copyright © 2020 Sunway College Johor Bahru. This website is best viewed in Google Chrome.